15
Jun
10

Heck ch00 p04

One of the strange things about Hector’s last name is that I just wrote it down one time, incorrectly spelling it Hämmerskjold.  I thought it was just a made-up, complicated, Scandinavian-y sounding name to complement his very simple first name, but I clearly must have heard it somewhere.  More likely, I had probably  seen it written down, because there was a rather famous Swedish diplomat named Dag Hammarskjöld, and there have been a ton of things named after him. The reason I say I must have seen it written down is that I really am not entirely certain how it’s pronounced.  The Swedes pronounce it “hah-mah-hweld”, and I sure as heck wouldn’t have come up with anything close to my spelling after someone said that.  In my head, I hear “hammer-sheld” when I read the name, and I kind of like its implied reference to weapons.  Good for a tough guy hero.

3 Responses to “Heck ch00 p04”


  1. June 16, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi, Zander! The name sounds familiar to me too, maybe from one of the recent Swedish mysteries–Stieg Larsson’s Girl trilogy, or one by Henning Mankell? They usually have some Swedish political history in them as well.

  2. June 17, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Dag Hammarskjöld is my hero. You can check here for some of his better quotes:

    http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/d/dag_hammarskjold.html

    His book Vagmarken is really, really good. Hammarskjöld is one of the undisputed heroes of the 20th century, up there with King and Ghandi; his assassination was an international tragedy, but it paved the way for the end of apartheid. Here’s a painting I did of him for an art class:

    • June 17, 2010 at 1:33 am

      Geoff–that’s a beautiful painting. I agree; Dag Hammerskjöld was a remarkable man. And some of his quotations dovetail nicely into the upcoming adventures here in this story, though I was utterly unaware of him or his legacy at the time. Thanks for pointing me to that page.


Leave a Reply

Projects

Archives


